Posted on

“The Help” unifying colored folks aalll o’er this land.


So let me see if I can get this right. The movie “The Help” has been determined by some to be the equalizer of racial conflict? Yes I am overgeneralizing and perhaps making a bigger deal out of this than I should, but some days…
My son’s doctor is in Roseville. Best pediatrician on the damned planet. For the last 10 years she has been working with Milo and she is a lovely woman. Moving to a new office. Sad to see her go.
HEY! did I tell you she’s WHITE?!?!?

*crickets*

Did you just say WTF???
yeah I know.
So I am driving to the pharmacy and this fidgety old man in a Chevy is making a u-turn behind my car. He is listening to Johnny Mathis at full blast. He finishes the u-turn and pulls up beside my car.

Da Help! Dat’s a fantastic movie. I saw it three times! You should see it!

What in the hell was I supposed to say to that?

uh yeah. I loved it too! The black poor stayed poor. The old money rich never missed a beat, and that old black housekeeper never worked again.

Truly, I didn’t care much for the movie. I was not a big fan of how it tried to portray the poor, easily cast off, disrespected, people of this southern town in a light that made Jim Crow and segregation COOL!
It was a very awkward moment indeed.
Take a wild guess what I said…..

thank you.

Why?
Because he meant well…

Goddess.

About ramblingsingleparentgoddess

a single parent comments on life and the pursuit of sleep. politics and current issues fall into play on the daily. read up

Leave a Reply

