Posted on

She’s still around


A part of me still cares for the girl? The foster daughter who has moved on to another home has a few numbers permanently stored in her memory banks. She never stays out of sight for too long.
I got a call from her tonight telling me that she had a bit of a “situation”. All I could think was “I really don’t have any money to bail her out of jail or pay for an appointment at THE CLINIC!”
She had run into some issues at the new home she was at and was perhaps calling me to see if I could help her out of the predicament she was in.
I heard her story out and then proceeded to call her therapist to have her discuss some of her options.
I remember when there was a time when I would have dropped every single last thing to help a person in need. Where did I go wrong?
Did I actually go wrong?
If I am shouldn’t I feel guilt?
If I don’t feel guilt maybe remorse is a better word.
I know I experienced it at a young age…

Humility.
Couple that with a little shame and you find yourself with a person not afraid to make mistakes and the dignity to admit when she is wrong.
My dear little former foster child has no ability to discern between a righteous act and an act of selfishness. I wonder how long it might take her to recognize that when it is time to, as my dear old dad used to say, “get somewhere and light”, which means be still and do not bring any undue attention upon yourself.

Sometimes it is nice to hang back in the shadows but in my case, there is a lot of battling to do. I started thinking about the parties involved with this scenario brought up tonight and I just shake my damn head.
When will she learn?
She can learn one of two things.
Learn to lie right and keep her story straight
Or
Start telling the truth more often.
So much is missing from most of her stories … The other side.

One response to “She’s still around

  1. Kim ⋅

    I really hate to be so blunt, and I’m not by any means speaking to your situation, but I am stunned to silence by how stupid some young adults are today. They seem to have no reasoning skills, no decision making skills, no ability to really “take care of themselves”. They do things that don’t make any sense and when you ask them why, they don’t seem to know. The children of a man I was dating (ages 20 and 15), are constantly in trouble with the law…not realizing that they are putting their futures (college opportunities, job prospects, etc) in serious jeopardy. What’s wrong with them? Have we really gone so very, very wrong? How do we fix it?

Leave a Reply

