Posted on

haven’t written any prose in a while…


The phone rings while I am on the phone with a friend. I don’t answer it in time but I decide (against my better judgment, mind you ) to check the message…

It is a call from the substitute teacher telling me that she has been the sub for the week and that Milo has had a pretty “rough” week. I am almost laughing as I listen to the message. He has not had a rough week, his teacher who knows her class is not there. Who’s at fault? Milo? The rest of the kids in class? The rooster up the street? No. The substitute teacher and the administrators at the school. Maybe even the teacher herself.

Teachers, if you have a difficult class, please feel free to take the time to tell a substitute teacher about the class. Do not assume that the children will behave differently read: positively, when you are gone. Please expect the behavior to remain the same in your absence. Please let the parents know that you will be absent so that we can help our children prepare for the change, set boundaries and present them with consequences if things do not go as planned. Hell, ask for parent volunteers for that week. I know there are others who have signed the list to help and have not been called ( me included )THAT is how you set a child up for success.

The substitute wanted me to “have a little chat with” Milo so that he can have a better day tomorrow. Do you need me to beat his ass? Do you need me to ground him for a week from his video games? Do you want me to come get him for the rest of the day? Yes, let me have a little chat with my son about something that I have nothing but second hand information on.

Apparently, he splashed water on a kid in the lunch room and got a citation for that.
*screeching brakes*
Do you really write citations for water? Did you only write one for Milo because the other kid was wet? Do think maybe the other kid ( who Milo said did it first ) had bad aim? I get so tired of people expecting me to discipline him for behaviors unknown to me. I say if they want to teach him how to act at school, THEY handle it at the school. Don’t send him home to me so I can ask him how his day went, only to hear that he was on a green day and that everything had gone fine.
I would expect more from people trained exclusively to work with children. You change behavior when you correct it at the source. You don’t send it home to an overworked, stressed exhausted parent to handle because it is too much on your plate. Make the kids run laps. If there is no medical excuse on file, it is not cruelty. If they need to leave you class for a while, please make sure they are doing something active and helpful. Don’t just send them to be idle in another class because ( duh ) they will get in more trouble.

From now on school, you are going to get my opinion on the back of your useless ( and unsigned ) citation letting you know that I cannot punish my son based on hearsay.

Now if you want me to come sit in your class all day….

I didn’t think so.

Goddess

4 responses to “haven’t written any prose in a while…

  1. Rhonda Logan ⋅

    O M G! Seriously? I’ve had TEACHERS do this to me before, but never a Sub hahaaa Wow.
    We’re dealing with the sub from HELL with my daughter (NT). Her science teacher went on maternity leave over the summer so she has a sub since the beginning of the school year. Apparently, this teacher has NO control whatsoever. She has ALL of her classes on.. ready? A BEHAVIOR PLAN. She goes over no work in class. The kids have to sit there until she tells them to speak. If they speak, HOMEWORK! So ALL of the instruction is being given at HOME. We have an appt Monday with the Sub & principal. And, she’s not even acting out!!

    Can they put together a sort of Behavior plan with him? Im not sure how it works with Typical kids.. if they do that? Thats what i’ve had at ALL of our schools for my son. That way, we’ve got every inch.. every DETAIL of how to handle situations. It forced the SCHOOL to take responsibility for the behaviors at SCHOOL. I mean, you can collaborate, to compare behaviors, exchange ideas of what works, and what DOESN’T work. But, to make YOU be the ULTIMATE authoritarian.. what then how is he ever going to take the STAFF at school seriously and respectful? Why not just say to him “milo if you don’t stop im gonna tell your mama!” hahaa
    Good luck mama.. I wish it got easier. I THOUGHT it would get easier. It doesn’t. They get bigger, and so do the issues.

    • Rhonda Logan ⋅

      oh and that science sub has decided to punish the students by taking their labs away. Well duh.. no labs, grades FALL!! So if ONE student acts out.. the whole class looses labs. Brianna’s been a straight A student for 2 years. She now has a D in that class already. Needless to say, that SUB has a tornado headed in her direction! Tornado RHONDA! HAHAAA

      • holy cow. i really think they forget that classroom management should be taught as a priority and not a simple one semester class. It is definitely authoritarian. you have to include the kids in their punishments or they will ride the teacher forever. once you lose respect from the teachers it falls into this category.
        there is not enough learning going on. it scares the hell out of my. most of what milo has learned all of his life has been taught at school. i am seriously thinking about home schooling him but i will need a husband who supports me first. drives me insane.

  2. Kim ⋅

    Amen!!

    I get so sick of being told that my son did this or my son did that. My 13 year old son has a 3 year old sister to deal with at home and it takes alot to get him to the point where he would even consider any type of horseplay or foolishness. I always have questions about how things got to “that point” where he felt he had to defend himself…”What did the other child do?”, “What happened immediately before he acted out in this way?”. I usually get told that the other child was “just sitting there”…which of course isn’t even remotely believeable. I think that probably whatever the other child had done just wasn’t noticed by the instructor; however, my son’s actions were immediately noticed/punished.

    I just can’t understand how he goes to school and seemingly turns into a totally different child. Some of the things I’m being told are so far removed from the behavior of the child that I know, that I’ve asked more than once whether the school administrators knew who I was, knew who my son was and whether they were speaking to the correct parent about the correct child.

    Then to be told to discipline him at home regarding a school issue….I’ve always believed that if the instructor fails to “take over” the class, then the children will “take over. The instructor needs to earn my son’s trust and respect. It tickles me that the school administration sends him home so I can earn his trust and respect for them…just can’t work that way.

    I can totally “feel you” on this one.
    ka

Leave a Reply

