Posted on

Let’s Bring Polite Back


I don’t understand why children go off to college and forget all of their manners. Is that because they are spreading their wings away from the parental nest and want to test the boundaries? Maybe it is because they were raised with no manners. I swear to Goddess, if one more time, I am walking as far to the right as I can and another 19 or 20 year old walks into me acting like I am blocking the road way, the shit is going to hit the proverbial fan.
I don’t know when lack of manners stopped being a rule and being rude became the social norm.
Probably about the time handwriting became an elective in elementary school.
I say that ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ come back into fashion again. Let’s make it a mandatory class in high school like home economics. Teach kids how to cook and sew. How to balance a checkbook and how to open door for people and how to jusy be nice.
I hate to say that we are part of a culture who is hell bent on sending our manners up the road with the dinosaurs.
It’s time we bring old fashion, common sense, respectable ‘boy-don’t-you-make-me -have-to-snatch-you-up-in-public’ manners back.

Goddess

About ramblingsingleparentgoddess

a single parent comments on life and the pursuit of sleep. politics and current issues fall into play on the daily. read up

Leave a Reply

